GDC Alappuzha

Government Dental College Alappuzha is the fourth Government Dental College in the state and the only centre catering speciality dental service in the public sector to the four districts - Alappuzha, Pathanamthitta, Kollam and Ernakulam. Even though the college is in the infancy stage, it is already providing quality dental education to the graduate students and cutting edge treatment options to the general public. Apart from teaching and patient care services, the institution has also made major leaps in research in a very short span of time.

Our Slogan

Advancing dental health through excellence in patient care, dental education and research.

Our Vision

The Government Dental College Alappuzha was established with the vision of developing into one of the premier institutes in the country offering latest dental treatment to patients and undergraduate education initially and subsequently postgraduate training to students aspiring to excel in the dental profession.

Our Mission

The Government Dental College Alappuzha was established to offer quality dental education to BDS students; affordable and high end services in oral diagnosis, restorative, prosthetic, oral surgical, periodontal and orthodontic therapy to patients of all age groups, including pediatric and geriatric patients and patients with special needs. The college will also conduct dental camps at regular intervals for the needy patients in remote areas. 

Our Philosophy

The college functions on the Philosophy of achieving excellence by insisting on uncompromising quality in all the services it offers.

GDC Alappuzha - History

The long-cherished dream of establishing a dental college in Alappuzha became a reality in 2014 as former Chief Minister of Kerala, Shri Oommen Chandy inaugurated the new dental college at a function held at Vandanam, Alappuzha. At the same function, Sri Ramesh Chennithala, the then Home Minister laid the foundation stone for the new building of the dental college. The function was presided by the then Health Minister Shri V.S. Sivakumar and the Chief Guest was Shri. K.C. Venugopal, Member of Parliament. The other Guests of Honour were Shri. G. Sudhakaran, MLA; Shri T.M. Thomas Isaac, MLA; Shri. P.C. Vishunath, Shri C.K. Sadasivan, MLA; Shri. P. Thilothaman, Shri. A.M. Aarif, MLA; Shri. Thomas Chandy, MLA; Shri Rajesh, MLA; Dr. K. Elankovan, IAS, Health Secretary; Shri N. Padmakumar, District Collector; Dr. V. Geetha, Director of Medical Education; Smt. Prathibha Hari, District Panchayat President; Smt. Sulekha B., Block Panchayat President; Shri Dnyanasuthan, Gramapanchayat President; Smt. Bindu Baiju, District Panchayat Member: and Smt. Sulabha Chandras, Block Panchayat Member. The new dental college was established 12 years after the previous one was launched in Kottayam in 2002 after the Cabinet decided to set up the college and received the necessary approvals from the Central government and the Dental Council of India.

The college affiliated to the Kerala University of Health Sciences (KUHS) offers 50 seats for Bachelor of Dental Surgery (BDS), thereby increasing the number of government BDS seats in the four government colleges in the State to 200 in the year 2014. The classes for the first batch commenced in the first week of October 2014. 

Dr M.K. Mangalam, who is presently the Registrar, Kerala University of Health and Allied Science, served as the first Principal of Government Dental College Alappuzha. The college is presently functioning from the premises of the Government T.D. Medical College. The construction of a separate building is underway on a plot of 5 acres at an estimated cost of Rs. 60 crores. M/s HLL Infra Tech Services Limited (HITES), a 100% subsidiary of HLL Lifecare Ltd (HLL) has been entrusted with the project. The new building and related facilities will be developed in various phases with the addition of new batches. 

The college started functioning with a staff strength including a Professor, an Associate Professor and Assistant Professors in each department and ten senior resident doctors. The staff strength has subsequently improved with creation of new posts in all the departments.

After Dr. M.K. Mangalam was deputed as Registrar, KUHS, Dr. Shameena P.M, Professor and HOD of Oral Pathology was principal in charge till Dr. Anita Balan joined as Principal in December 2016. The present Principal is Dr. Sheela Sreedharan who took charge in July 2017.

Succession list of Principals

1Dr. M K MangalamPrincipalMay 2014 - November 2015
2Dr. ShameenaPrincipal in chargeNovember 2015 - November 2016
3Dr. Anita BalanPrincipalNovember 2016 - July 2017
4Dr.Sheela SreedharanPrincipalJuly 2017 - November 2021
5Dr. Gilsa K VasunniPrincipalNovember 2021 - continuing

Copyright © 2018-2024. | Website designed by Dr.Rajeev Simon Kurudamannil.
Powered by Dentaura.Com